CHE celebrates 46th anniversary with online program

The College of Human Ecology (CHE) celebrated its 46th anniversary on Nov. 27 with a virtual commemoration program that was held via Zoom and streamed live on Facebook.

The program opened with a congratulatory message from Chancellor Jose V. Camacho Jr., who thanked CHE personnel for their work with families, communities, and local government units through the decades. 

He also gave emphasis on the programs that CHE launched during the quarantine, such as Oplan Damayan which brought farm products to consumers, Chikiting Stories which were aimed at helping kids and families cope with living in times of crisis, and the school-on-the-air program NutriLive via Radyo DZLB which provides knowledge on nutrition and health. Chancellor Camacho acknowledged that CHE’s activities will be vital in both future-proofing the university and supporting the communities that UPLB serves.

Following the Chancellor’s message were a series of videos detailing how the college has grown from its establishment in 1974 to the present, as well as its faculty, staff, students and alumni and their achievements.

This was followed by the presentation of the loyalty awards and outstanding faculty member, researcher, and extension personnel awards. Faculty members Dr. Edwin Abucay and Dr. Edgar Reyes, Jr. of the Department of Community and Environmental Resource Planning (DCERP), Raphael Ferrer of the Department of Human and Family Development Studies (DHFDS), and Ana Teresa Orillo of the Institute of Human Nutrition and Food (IHNF) were awarded the Loyalty Award for 10 years of service to the college, while Ms. Aida Escobin and Dr. Sue Liza Saguiguit of DHFDS and Mr. Dante Rasgo of IHNF were awarded the Loyalty Award for 25 years of service.

The recipients of the Outstanding Faculty Award were Joyce Parco of IHNF, Francis Mark Dioscoro Felizar of the Department of Social Development Services (DSDS), Melissa Ferido of DHFDS, and Almira Geles Lumbres of DCERP. Dr. Arnold Salvacion of DCERP was the recipient of the Outstanding Researcher Award, while Nepthaly Joel Botor of DHFDS was given the Outstanding Extension Personnel Award.

After the awarding, a surprise tribute for the incumbent CHE dean, Dr. Raden Piadozo, who will be retiring next year, was made. This was followed by a message from Floro Francisco, president of the CHE Alumni Association, who encouraged the alumni to give back to the college by sharing their learnings and experiences.

The program ended with HUMEIN elections, breakout sessions, and virtual alumni reunions.

The program may be viewed at UPLB-CHE’s Facebook page at (Albert Geoffred B. Peralta)

Share this on: