GMA Network, DZUP win big at Gandingan

GMA Network and DZUP 1602 bagged most of the trophies at UPLB’s Gandingan 2019, The 13th Isko’t Iska’s Multi-Media Awards on Mar. 16 at the DL Umali Hall.

Of the 40 Gandingan honors, 18 went to GMA, and 10 to DZUP, UP Diliman’s radio station, for their notable development-oriented programs, content, and media personalities.

GMA’s newsmen Atom Araullo, Dr. Ferds Recio, Dr. Nielsen Donato, and Nathaniel “Mang Tani” Cruz bagged three major awards.

Araullo (The Atom Araullo Specials) was named “Gandingan ng Kabataan”; Dr. Recio and Dr. Donato (Born to be Wild) as “Gandingan ng Kalikasan”; and Cruz (IM Ready sa Double B, Super Radyo DZBB 594) as “Gandingan ng Agham at Teknolohiya.”

Cruz’s radio show was also hailed as Most Development-Oriented Science and Technology Program under the string of New Core Awards that were determined for their development content.

Ten other programs and four media practitioners from GMA Network, GMA News TV, GMA Regional TV, DZBB, and Barangay LS 97.1 DWLS FM took home Gandingan trophies.

Meanwhile, DZUP was hailed as “Gandingan ng Kaunlaran,” the night’s top award, and earned another major award, the UP Community Broadcasters’ Society Inc.’s (ComBroadSoc) Choice for “Gandingan ng Kalayaan.”

The UP ComBroadSoc, a student organization at the College of Development Communication (CDC), spearheads the annual Gandingan awards.

DZUP’s Dr. Michael Arthus Muega of Radyo Edukado, and the tandem of Cindy Cruz-Cabrera and Steph Andaya of GENDERadyo also bagged the major awards “Gandingan ng Edukasyon” and “Gandingan ng Kababaihan,” respectively.

Six other Gandingan honors went to DZUP, including the Most Development-Oriented AM Station award.

AUP 87.8 Shine Radio of the Adventist University of the Philippines was declared as Most Development-Oriented FM Station. The other winners are listed on the official Facebook page of Gandingan.

A board of judges composed of UPLB students and faculty members selected Gandingan’s winners from the list of nominees. These names came from media stations and were later shortlisted by a screening panel.

With the theme “Midya at Bayan: Malaya. Mulat. Matapang,” Gandingan 2019 recognized the courage of media programs and practitioners in advocating and upholding the freedom of the press and the people.

Tayo, ang midya at bayan, ay dapat na malaya,” said Mark Lester Chico, founder of Gandingan and an assistant professor at CDC. “Katuwang ang midya sa paglaya ng bayan, at bayan din ang siyang magpapalaya sa midya.”

Chico, together with Dr. Ma. Stella Tirol, dean of CDC, and UP ComBroadSoc’s Dr. Mildred Moscoso, senior adviser, Ryan Jay Galang, junior adviser, and Julia Beatriz Iglesias, chief anchor, led the launching of the Ka Louie Tabing Memorial Achievement Award, which shall be given starting next year to outstanding community broadcasters.

A posthumous lifetime achievement award was also given to the late community broadcaster. His wife Zenaida Tabing received the award.

Proceeds of Gandingan 2019 were given to Bahay Pag-asa ng Laguna in Calauan town, a transition home for children in conflict with the law (CICL).

Ang mga CICL ay hindi po sila talaga masasamang tao. Sila ay biktima rin. Ang mga CICL ay nangangailangan ng kalinga at second chance,” said social worker Aileneth Desiderio, who received the certificate on behalf of Bahay Pag-asa ng Laguna as Gandingan 2019 partner community. (Mark Jayson E. Gloria)


Share this on: