New UP-DPWH road to enhance industrial devt proj

A new road construction project is now underway in UPLB and is anticipated to usher in welcome developments not just for UP constituents, but for surrounding communities in Laguna.

During the groundbreaking ceremony for the project on Oct. 18, Chancellor Jose V. Camacho, Jr. said in his welcoming message that the new road will facilitate faster mobility for the residents of Los Baños and Bay and will complement the rise of the UPLB Agro-Industrial and Information Technology Parks (AIP and ITP) within the University’s special economic zone.

The AIP and ITP is envisioned to become a hub of businesses and locators in agribusiness and IT that will foster collaborations between the public and private sectors, and the academe and industry. It aims to further enhance economic and industrial development in CALABARZON.

The new road will stretch from Tabon Gate near UP Open University and will connect the Manila South Road, IPB Road and FT San Luis Avenue, for a total length of 1.69 kilometers.

It will be built by the Laguna 2nd District Engineering Office of the Department of Public Works and Highways with contractor and supplier St. Matthew General Contractor and Development Corp. and Bhenllabien Builders Construction Venture.

The project was contracted for PhP 113.3 million and is expected to be finished by June 17, 2022. 

Chancellor Camacho added that the road construction had long been discussed with the UP System and DPWH and that the location was finalized in January 2021 with the 2nd district of Laguna represented by Hon. Ruth M. Hernandez.

Gracing the groundbreaking ceremony were Hon. Hernandez, President Danilo L. Concepcion, Staff Regent Victoria C. Belegal and Faculty Regent Aimee Lynn B. Dupo, both members of the UP Board of Regents, Chancellor Melinda dP. Bandalaria of UP Open University, and Romeo Recide, Philippine representative of the International Rice Research Institute.

Also in attendance were UPLB officials, namely: Vice Chancellors Roberto P. Cereno (community affairs) and Fernando O. Paras, Jr. (planning and development), and Deans Elpidio M. Agbisit, Jr. (agriculture and food science), Agham C. Cuevas (economics and management), Rossana Marie C. Amongo (engineering and agro-industrial technology), Rowena dT. Baconguis (public affairs and development), and Jezie A. Acorda (veterinary medicine). (Jessa Jael S. Arana)

Share this on: