Outstanding personnel feted at 2020 UPLB Foundation Day

They belong to different sectors in the university but their common quest for service and professional excellence brought them together on one stage.

At the Convocation and Awarding Ceremonies for the 2020 Outstanding Personnel and Program during the 111th Foundation Day anniversary celebration of UPLB on March 6 at Baker Hall, 17 personnel and a research team took the spotlight for being chosen as the best in their fields in this year’s search for Outstanding Personnel and Program.

Dr. Dinah Pura T. Depositario of the Department of Agribusiness Management and Entrepreneurship-College of Economics and Management (CEM-DAME), Dr. Ireneo L. Lit, Jr. of the Institute of Biological Sciences-College of Arts and Sciences (CAS-IBS), and Arlene C. Gutierrez of CEM-DAME (3rd-5th from L) were named this year’s outstanding teachers.

Presenting the award were (from L-R) Dr. Gonzalo C. Serafica, a science and technology innovation ecosystem builder and keynote speaker during the convocation program; UP President Danilo L. Concepcion; Chancellor Fernando C. Sanchez, Jr.; and Dr. Portia G. Lapitan, vice chancellor for academic affairs.

Carolyn E. Alcasid of the Institute of Plant Breeding-College of Agriculture and Food Science (CAFS-IPB), Dr. David Emmanuel M. General of the Museum of Natural History, Scientist Nelly S. Aggangan of the National Institute of Molecular Biology and Biotechnology (BIOTECH), and Dr. Dixon T. Gevaña and Dr. Ramon A. Razal of the College of Forestry and Natural Resources (3rd-7th from L) were hailed as outstanding researchers.

Scientist Mario V. Navasero of the CAFS-National Crop Protection Center was named outstanding extension personnel.

The 49-strong Plant Pathology Laboratory of CAFS-IPB is this year’s outstanding research team. The laboratory is headed by Scientist Fe M. Dela Cueva and Dr. Mark Angelo Balendres (top row, 3rd-4th from L). Accompanying the team were Dr. Elpidio M. Agbisit, Jr., dean of CAFS, Scientist Rodel G. Maghirang, director of IPB, and Dr. Rex B. Demafelis, vice chancellor for research and extension (5th, 6th, and 8th from L).

Meanwhile, Jeremy Reuel N. Dela Cruz of the Department of Humanities-CAS and Ryan Rodrigo P. Tayobong of the Institute of Crop Science-CAFS (3rd-4th from L) tied for the Outstanding Artist Award.

Rounding up this year’s awardees were the outstanding administrative personnel, namely: Felomino M. Dimapilis of the University Planning and Maintenance Office, Patricia M. Lunaria of the Records Management Office, Resie L. Valderrama of BIOTECH, Bernandino DG. Melicio, Jr. of the University Health Service (UHS), Edgardo DL. Reyes of CAFS-IPB, and Dr. Jessie Imelda Foronda-Walde of UHS (3rd-8th from L).

They were joined by Assistant Vice Chancellor for Administration Nanette A. Aquino (rightmost) on stage.

In their respective messages, President Concepcion and Chancellor Sanchez commended the awardees for upholding UP’s tradition of honor and excellence.

Ang parangal na iginawad sa inyo ngayong hapon ay tanda ng pagpapatuloy ng mga sinimulan ng mga nauna sa atin. Ipagmamalaki natin sa buong UP System ang hanay ninyo dito sa UPLB,” said President Concepcion.

Sana’y mas maging mas maalab pa ang inyong katapatan at pakikilahok sa pamantasan upang mapaigting pa ang pag-aangat sa pamumuhay ng ating mga kababayan,” he added.

For his part, Chancellor Sanchez applauded the awardees’ hardwork and commitment and enjoined the guests, many of whom are university officials and employees, to be inspired by their examples. He also reminded them to prioritize the university’s welfare amid diversity and differences.

“When we prioritize UPLB and its interests, we will all emerge as winners, for UPLB’s accomplishments are also ours,” he concluded.

“Creativity, innovation, and technology” served as the centerpiece of this year’s founding anniversary rites. An exhibit featuring five champion and five emerging technologies reflecting the theme of the celebration was installed at Baker Hall during the festivities.

Dr. Serafica, who serves as technology commercialization and intellectual property consultant to UP and De La Salle University, enjoined the awardees to be guided by “DRIVE” to better serve the country.

DRIVE, he said, means delivering the promise, reducing risks, innovating, value proposition, and effort.

He also called on UPLB to pay attention to what he referred to as TRIM3 in order to succeed in technology commercialization. TRIM3 means technology focus/advantage, regulatory pathway, intellectual property, market potential, manufacturing scale-up, and money.

In his message on behalf of the outstanding personnel, outstanding researcher Dr. Razal said that it is through using UPLB’s new knowledge and technology where the university can better serve the public. (Mark Jayson E. Gloria)

Share this on: