Photo by: LB Times
UPLB has 6 newly appointed scientists

Six university researchers from UPLB were newly appointed to Scientist positions under the country’s Scientific Career System (SCS).

SCS is a joint undertaking of the Civil Service Commission and the Department of Science and Technology through the National Academy of Science and Technology. It develops highly qualified and productive scientific personnel by recognizing and granting them the Scientist title along with its incentives and rewards.

Newly appointed as Scientist I are Dr. Lucille Elna P. de Guzman of the Institute of Crop Science; Dr. Evelyn F. Delfin, Maria Luisa D. Guevarra, and Dr. Lourdes D. Taylo of the Institute of Plant Breeding (IPB); and Dr. Leila D. Landicho of the Agricultural Systems Institute, all from the College of Agriculture and Food Science (CAFS).

Dr. Marilyn O. Quimado of the Department of Forest Biological Sciences from the College of Forestry and Natural Resources was also appointed as Scientist I.

Along with these new appointees, 11 UPLB researchers retained their previous appointments. Continuing as Scientist I are Dr. Edwin P. Alcantara, Dr. Eufrocinio DC. Marfori, and Dr. Rosario G. Monsalud of the National Institute of Molecular Biology and Biotechnology (BIOTECH) and Sancho G. Bon, Dr. Olivia P. Damasco, and Dr. Fe M. Dela Cueva of CAFS.

Dr. Merdelyn C. Lit, Dr. Mario V. Navasero, and Dr. Florencia B. Pulhin of CAFS retained their appointments as Scientist II.

Meanwhile, Dr. Nelly S. Aggangan of BIOTECH and Dr. Marcela M. Navasero of CAFS were promoted from Scientist I to Scientist II. (Kyle Ramiel Dalangin)

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share this on:

Aligned with our commitment to:

All News
CFNR alumni touch base during their homecoming 2024
All News
DevCom students receive microgrant for producing shorts for Apo Reef Natural Park
All News
UPLB INREM to assess dominant bioproduction systems at the Baroro Watershed, La Union