University of the Philippines Los Baños
Saturday, 10 February 2018 16:45

UPLB gets most number of UP Scientist Awards

Dr. Rico Ancog, UP Scientist III at the age of 34 (Photo courtesy of SESAM) Dr. Rico Ancog, UP Scientist III at the age of 34 (Photo courtesy of SESAM)

Almost half of the 68 awardees of the UP Scientific Productivity System (SPS) for CY 2017-2019 are from UPLB. The recent release of the UP Office of the Vice President for Academic Affairs shows that with 31 awardees, UPLB remains to have the highest number of new and renewed UP Scientists in the UP System.

They are led by UP Scientist III awardees Dr. Christian Joseph Cumagun of the College of Agriculture and Food Science (CAFS) and Dr. Juan Pulhin of the College of Forestry and Natural Resources (CFNR), who both retained their designations; and Dr. Vachel Gay Paller of the College of Arts and Sciences (CAS), Dr. Virginia Ocampo and Dr. Barbara Caoili of CAFS, and Dr. Maria Victoria Espaldon of the School of Environmental Science and Management (SESAM), who were all promoted to the said title.

One remarkable UP Scientist III appointment is that of Dr. Rico Ancog of SESAM. The 34-year old faculty member has reached the highest designation there is on his first inclusion in the UP Scientists circle.

Meanwhile, promoted as UP Scientist II are Dr. Rowena Baconguis of the College of Public Affairs and Development (CPAf), Dr. Aimee Lyn Barrion-Dupo of CAS, and Dr. Pablito Magdalita of CAFS.

Receiving the title of UP Scientist I for the first time are Dr. Elda Esguerra, Dr. Antonio Lalusin, Dr, Ireneo Pangga, and Dr. Sheryl Yap of CAFS; Dr. Isabelita Pabuayon, Dr. Zenaida Sumalde, and Dr. Agham Cuevas of the College of Economics and Management; Dr. Rex Demafelis, Dr. Jessie Elauria, and Dr. Delfin Suministrado from the College of Engineering and Agro-Industrial Technology; Dr. Editha Jose, Dr. Allan Abraham Padama, and  Dr. Jomar Rabajante of CAS; Dr. Aimee Sheree Barrion from the College of Human Ecology; and Dr. Joseph Dela Cruz of the College of Veterinary Medicine.

Renewing their UP Scientist I titles are Dr. Willie Abasolo and Dr. Edwino Fernando of CFNR, Dr. Leonardo Florece of SESAM, Dr. Maria Ana Quimbo of CPAf, and Dr. Merlyn Mendioro  and Dr. Maribel Dionisio-Sese from CAS.

Approved by the Board of Regents in August 2005, the UP SPS was devised to encourage UP constituents to increase their scientific research output. Awardees do not only gain the coveted title, they also receive a monetary reward.

Under this batch of UP Scientists, the remaining 13 are from UP Diliman, 10 from UP Manila, and the rest are from UP Baguio, UP Visayas, and UP Mindanao. (Albert Geoffred B.Peralta)